Lent: Jesus is watching

I’m giving up being a bitch for Lent.


Or, to more appropriately put it, I’m trying to be nice for Lent. The world can breathe easy for 40 days.

For anyone who doesn’t know me, I’m a very kind, caring, thoughtful person, but I’m not nice. I like to make fun of anything and everything and use sarcasm….well it’s probably more efficient to count the times when I’m being sincere then when being sarcastic. I’m also bluntly honest. It doesn’t always work out for me.

Naturally, all of this has made me ponder, ‘What is nice?’ Nice to me has always been that timid, sweet, pale girl who doesn’t talk much and never seems to be in a bad mood. I don’t want to be that person. I also don’t want to give up who I am for 40 days, especially if it doesn’t make me in any way a better person.

So my conclusion (at least for the time being): Nice is not being mean.

There, that seems like a good goal to work toward.


