Last week, one of my lovely co-workers had a birthday. My roommate Wesley, who sits between us at work, had recently received a shipment of chocolate and yogurt dipped pretzels and Oreos, which my co-worker and I loved.

I decided to make cupcakes for the occasion, and rather than simply covering them in icing, I decided to dip them in chocolate, as well.

I started out by just baking your basic cupcakes. I bought box cake mix of the flavor of my choosing (yellow cake) and followed the instructions on the back of the box. They grew strange little noses when I baked them.

I let them cool for a bit, and I melted some chocolate in the microwave. I used the dipping chocolate that you buy for fruit because I wasn’t sure what I was doing, but melting a bag of chocolate chips or chocolate chunks will work just fine. I then dipped each of the cupcakes upside-down  into the chocolate.  I had some problems with the cupcakes falling apart when I dipped them, but I believe this can be fixed by letting the cupcakes sit a while longer after baking. It’s messy work, so have a towel handy.

Um, I used Pam, by the way…

So when they’re all chocolated down, you pop them in the fridge to harden. I then topped them off with some pathetic looking icing. (I’m now giving up on my dream of being a professional cake decorator.)

Then I presented the glorious gifts to my coworker.

Look, she has no idea she’s about to be pounced on by a vicious chocolate-dipped cupcake.

